2016 Beltane Tarot Blog Hop

majusfa
May-tree (Májusfa) erected in Sóstó, Hungary

PREVIOUS BLOG | MASTER LIST | NEXT BLOG

 

As we know, Beltane marks the beginning of the second half of the Celtic year, opposite to Shamhain. Just like at Shamhain the Veil is thinner, but instead of the other world coming to ours, this time we can travel to the other world.

 

Our wrangler Karen Sealey asked us to write something about how we use the word “may” in our readings; what does it mean to us, do we use it often; write a poem about it, paint, photograph, dance about it. Kick it about and see what you get.

 

I have to admit, I had no idea what to write. I have taken up so many things that I’m about to drown myself, and I am not ready to think of puns in a language not native on my tongue (Yes I’m Hungarian, and yes, Viktor of House Orbán, First of his name, Defender of our Borders and Inflation and National Football, the Unbothered, Father of children who stand on their own feet, the Builder of Stadiums, is our prime minister but believe me no one likes him any more than you do. And yes I read Game of Thrones.). So I had to look for inspiration somewhere. I could have compared Hungarian traditions with Celtic ones that are done in May, but I was not feeling up to the challenge… Instead, what I found is The Beltane Crossing Over Spread by Sasha Graham from her book ‘365 Tarot Spreads – Revealing the magic in every day’. That is what I’m going to try here, because it has some crazy positions – like “What does it smell like in the netherworld?” I mean… that’s not a question I’d ask my cards… 😀 Anyway, here it goes.

 

‘Beltane Crossing Over Spread’ by Sasha Graham

  1. What does the netherworld feel like? – The Veiled Lamp (Hermit)
  2. What does it smell like? – The Thunder-struck Tower (Tower)
  3. Whom do I encounter? – The Scepter (Ace of Wands)
  4. Are spirits happy there? – The Two Ways (Lovers)
  5. What does it feel like to be dead? – The Four Swords
  6. How is time experienced? – The Two Urns (Temperance)
  7. Do you watch me? – The Mistress of the Pentacle
  8. Do you make yourself known in our world? – The Warrior of the Pentacle
  9. What is the point of Life? – The seven Scepters
  10. What is the point of Death? – The three of Swords
  11. What lesson should I carry back to the regular world? – The Chariot of Osiris (Chariot)

 

FullSizeRender(8)
Deck used is The Egyptian Tarot by Comte Saint Germain, US Games.
1. What does the netherworld feel like? – The Veiled Lamp (Hermit)

It is lonely. You have left people you loved behind. At the same time, you know your time was up, and moving on isn’t that hard once you have actually crossed over. You can see the Light, and the Light is warm and beautiful.

 

2. What does it smell like? – The Thunder-struck Tower (Tower)

It smells of ashes and the faint smell of electricity.

 

3. Whom do I encounter? – The Scepter (Ace of Wands)

People who have left before me. My ancestors. My grandfather.

 

4. Are spirits happy there? – The Two Ways (Lovers)

Yes, they are surrounded by Love and their loved ones. But you have to choose to be happy and accept the Love, otherwise you will be yearning for your Life, that cannot be yours anymore.

 

5. What does it feel like to be dead? – The Four Swords

Restive. Like a spa break before returning. Sounds great! 🙂 Although in the deck I am using, this card means regrets and feeling guilty. It depends on the person I guess.

 

6. How is time experienced? – The Two Urns (Temperance)

It flows by but you never notice it. There is no rush, everyone understands that when the time comes we will be together again. Until then you live in Love, so there is absolutely no hurry.

 

7. Do you watch me? – The Mistress of the Pentacle

(I don’t want anyone to watch me! That’s spooky!) Yes, they are watching and helping whenever they can.

 

8. Do you make yourself known in our world? – The Warrior of the Pentacle

If they can find the right vehicle/medium, they do make themselves known here. Otherwise we just go by, never noticing.

 

9. What is the point of Life? – The seven Scepters

To stand up for yourself, don’t let others pull you down and do what you love.  Defend your happiness and don’t listen to anyone who says it cannot be done.

 

10. What is the point of Death? – The three of Swords

To end what was not useful anymore. To let go of things you have been attached to. To break your and your loved ones’ hearts.

 

11. What lesson should I carry back to the regular world? – The Chariot of Osiris (Chariot)

Tell them there is life after Death. There is life after Afterlife. But these are not the things they should be worrying about. There is life before Death, and they could make it so much more blissful, joyful, adventurous, exciting, exalting, laughing, crying, playing, toiling, creating, destroying, controlling and letting go… They could live now, enjoy the small wonders and wonder over miracles. Take the reins and snap the behinds of your horses!

 

 

This wasn’t such a silly spread after all…

 

Oh, back to the original topic: I don’t use “may” in my readings much. Partly because I read in Hungarian, partly because I feel it makes the reading seem uncertain. Which of course it may be. Happy Beltane everyone! 😉

 

 

 

PREVIOUS BLOG | MASTER LIST | NEXT BLOG

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “2016 Beltane Tarot Blog Hop

  1. Loved your post. There is life after Afterlife is a brilliant line! 🙂 I care not one jot that you didn’t use much may… you amused me greatly and I’m thoroughly delighted that you ditched my topic and treated us to you own! Great spread! Thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. Love to see that you did a new spread and rolled with it. I also like the fact that it asks what does it smell like. I can see where you get ash from. The Tower would leave a lot of that around once it has fallen due to lightening strike. Great post. Blessed Be.

    Like

      1. I’ve done a lot of magic work with the Three of Swords, to let go of heartbreak. And so I’ve come to appreciate its energy, and its strength. Bit odd, I know, but there you go 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment