Foodies Guide To The Tarot – Mabon tarot blog hop

PREVIOUS BLOG | MASTER LIST | NEXT BLOG

ancien tarot de marseille bubgrimaud, tower, 6, 7 of cups, ace, three of swords, cooking tarot

Eggs, cream cheese, spices, fish, yogurt…

Apples, condensed milk, baking soda, flour, butter…

Hello and welcome to the Mabon edition of Tarot Blog Hop. What the hell is that thing at the top you ask? Why, it is a recipe I have asked the cards for! You don’t understand? Me neither, but that’s  all right, we’ll cook up something! (Sorry, bad pun…)

This time our wranglers Jay Cassels & Arwen Lynch Poe have asked us to write about Tarot and food. Well, I said, let’s have some fun and ask the cards for a recipe. Let’s ask the cards, I said… It will be fun, I said…

Turns out it takes a lot of thinking to understand what the cards mean by six cups. Six cups of what? Flour, milk, semolina..?? So I will walk you along my track of thoughts, hoping against hope that it will be clear…

My question to the cards was: “Show me a sweet recipe!” I have decided I will draw five cards. They are:

1: The Tower of Destruction – 2 eggs. Eggs because when you break an egg, you destroy a life, delivering a Tower moment. Two because two people are falling from the Tower, two lives are destroyed. In case you are vegetarian, you could use yogurt as substitute. Oh, so you are vegan? Sorry, I don’t cook for superhumans. Google says grated apples should work nicely though.

2: Seven of Cups – Seven cups of flour. Flour because the plant on the card suggest wheat and after processing the six units of it, the one unit of flour was made that is in the middle of the card.

3: Ace of Swords – one pinch of baking soda. Swords stand for Air, and baking soda will give our creation a bit of a fluff, some bubbles to make it airy. A pinch because only the tip of the sword is inside the crown, bringing the Hungarian equivalent of the measure to mind. (Some of us uses the tip of a butter-knife to measure small quantities, such as pinch.)

4: Three of Swords – three small spoons of oil. The shape made by the two swords reminds me of a seed. This is reinforced by the olive twigs around the third sword. The third sword in the middle cuts the seed in half, suggesting the process of making oil. Spoons because in the previous card the sword was kind of used as a spoon.

5: Six of Cups – Six cups of milk. The card flows nicely, in two straight lines, just as milk would from a cow’s udder. Well, more or less. Superhumans can use almond or coconut milk I guess. πŸ™‚

 

Ah, so now I have detangled the meanings and measurements, let’s do it! Yes, I was crazy enough to actually prepare this thing! Want to see? Of course you do! Scroll down!

The mixture of ingredients looked suspiciously like a muffin/cupcake batter, so I’ve decided to pop it in the oven in my muffin tray. Normally I would bake it on 180C for 20-25 minutes, so that’s what I did with this as well. The result? ====>>

ancien tarot de marseille grimaud, cupcake recipe, ace, three of swords, 6, 7 of cups, tower, temperance

It is a muffin that tastes like pancakes. I repeat:

 

IT IS A MUFFIN THAT TASTES LIKE PANCAKES!!!!!!

 

That is it from me now, run along and check out the other wonderful mff-mmmf nom-nom-nom… aaah so good!

 

Happy Mabon everyone!

 

 

PREVIOUS BLOG | MASTER LIST | NEXT BLOG

22 thoughts on “Foodies Guide To The Tarot – Mabon tarot blog hop

  1. I loved the concept for this post and really love the line “Eggs because when you break an egg, you destroy a life, delivering a Tower moment.” Haha. Great post and thanks for the wonderful read. ❀

    Like

  2. My first thought was that you were very brave to try out a recipe channeled through a Marseille deck, and I see I’m not the only one to use that word! Of course, now I’m eager to ask my cards for a recipe and see what they say!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It took a certain amount of madness, I have to admit, but anything for the hop, hehe! (And the deck would have got hurt if I wouldn’t have trusted it… Noone wants a Marseille deck muttering curses while shuffling! ) πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. πŸ˜€ Still have not tried it because I keep on getting lost among my cooking list-component, but I am still laughing, picturing you sitting by the oven, waiting to see what comes out of it, too cute. πŸ™‚ I do not cook to superhumans, either. Not yet. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

