Journey into the Vikings Tarot’s Queen of Wands

 This is my first attempt to journey into a card, and I didn’t expect it to happen this way…

I chose the Queen of Wands because  of all the court cards she is the most distant stage of consciousness from where I am right now. She is the one I am not. And I need her energy to make myself evolve. 
I always say how I dislike the RWS images, so although it would have been an obvious choice for the first journey I had to look for another deck’s queen. The one I like the most is Sinmara (sin-pale, mara-nightmare) wife of Surtr, the king of the fire giants in Norse mythology. 

She is beautiful,  isn’t she? Without further ado, let’s step into that card!
 I am in front of her. She is looking expectantly at me.

-Hello, Sinmara!

– Who are you? – she asks. I get confused. She should know who I am.

– I am the owner of the deck you are sitting in…

– I didn’t mean that. Loki* told you will come to talk to me and I should help you find yourself. So… Who are you really? 

– I am a Queen of Pentacles with a lot of Cups’ treats if that helps.

– Then why come here? Why not to the other queens?

– Because I am scared of you. I am a scared little girl who is still afraid of so many things from the past.

– If that helps, think of me when you are scared next time. My husband is Surtr. It is terrifying to fight with him, still I have to do it time to time. – she laughs because she knows my husband is a King of Wands, just like hers. And that I hate to fight with him, just like she hates fighting with Surtr.

– Thank you, I guess… What is in your chest? I heard it’s a weapon.

– It is the mistletoe that killed Baldur.

– You have kept it with you? Why?

– To remind you dummy that even the smallest, most scaredy little girls can be utmost powerful in their own purpose, just like this innocent looking little twig has been. You are underestimating yourself so much you became weak. Don’t let others pull you down, girl! You have put some things down on the table and you should be proud of yourself! 

-Thank you… I’ll come back. – I say, and I have to return to my little boy who is hungry again.

  After almost a day I have stepped back in. She looks a bit annoyed.

– You sure took your time!

-Sorry, I was busy. I hope you didn’t get bored?

– No, I was playing with Surtr’s cock. (I can’t believe I am actually writing this down)

– Aha…- I say, hoping she means the rooster sitting on the tree next to her. 

– Since when are you so bashful? You used to make exellent jokes, but now you are so boring!

– Sorry, I… – and this is where I understood why I had to come to her. I did make quite ok jokes. I used to be funny and full of self confidence and laugh. But then things changed.

-Now I know why I had to come. Thank you for reminding me of my Queen of Wands self. I forgot about how to be like you.

– Just doing my job. Anything else?

– Why do I dislike the RWS QoW?

– ‘Cause she’s a bi**h.

– She would say the same of you.

– I guess. – and she laughs again. She is full of life, of magnetism. She is the woman I used to be and I want to get her back to attach her to my QoP existence. I say thank you and bid farewell then I step out of the card.
As I said before, I didn’t expect it to go this way, but it was an enlightening experience! I think I am going to like this journeying thing!

Your comments and feedback are very welcome as always.

Blessings,

Kati

* I chat to him often, so I’m not surprised. He is the Fool of this deck btw.

5 thoughts on “Journey into the Vikings Tarot’s Queen of Wands

  1. Oh I loved this, Katalin! Reminds me of the first time I entered the RWS Hierophant and got expelled by his acolytes πŸ˜€ Journeying so often takes up places we didn’t expect, which is why it is so wonderful! And I love that you were reminded that you used to be the Queen of Wands in some ways – easier to not be scared and claim her back, rather than having to meet her/you for the first time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I would love to read about it! Have you made friends with the Hierophant since then, or you still are an undesirable? πŸ˜€

      I am happy I realised my wandy nature. As of late I believed I’m everything but a wand person…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I made friends with the Hierophant after that, though mostly by journeying into different versions of the card – the Ancestral Path Tarot shows the oracle at Delphi, for example πŸ™‚
        Glad you’ve refound your inner fire!

        Like

Leave a Reply

